How to Know if Someone Blocked you on Snapchat? [5 Ways]

Snapchat sends notifications for pretty much everything, even when you screenshot a snap. However, it doesn’t send any notifications when someone blocks you. You will have to find that out manually. Unfortunately, there isn’t a direct method to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat.

But luckily, we have come up with many workarounds that will help you to figure out if you are blocked by someone on Snapchat.

Getting blocked is a pretty bad feeling, especially if done by your close ones.  The worst thing is you are just there thinking if you are blocked or not. By the end of this post, you will be able to verify.

Are you Blocked on Snapchat?

In the globalized era, social media platforms play a crucial in the development of interpersonal communication, as well as connecting the world.  Hence, there is a need for individuals to break off their social anxieties to come together to a common platform and share their experiences and arts on it.

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media apps in the world. This US-based messaging application is developed and published by Snap Inc. One of the key features of Snapchat is that the messages and media including pictures, videos, etc that you send someone will only stay accessible for a short period of time before it disappears.

When someone blocks you on Snapchat, you will not receive any notifications. You will have to figure it out using some special factors.

What happens when you are blocked on Snapchat?

When you are blocked on Snapchat, you will not be able to contact that person in any manner. You will no longer be able to look at their stories or their snaps, or their profile details. But, this may also happen due to other reasons like when someone closes their Snapchat account.

So, it is always better to assure that you are blocked, and not that the other person has left the platform. Fortunately, there are several ways available to do that.

How to Verify If Someone Blocked you on Snapchat?

If you think someone might have blocked you on Snapchat, there are certain ways to confirm that. This might be pretty difficult for someone who is new to the app or doesn’t use it regularly. If you are suspicious and want to verify if someone has blocked you on Snapchat, you just need to do the following things.

1. Find them on Snapchat

The next thing you have to do is find their account on Snapchat. For that, you have to search for them with their Snapchat username in the search bar. If you are able to find their name, then you are not blocked. However, if you are not able to find them even after entering their exact username, this is a clear sign that they may have blocked you.

You can also try searching for them with their full name if you don’t remember their exact username. If you don’t even know their full name, you can find it via other social networks like Facebook or Instagram.

2. Check your Chat, Stories & Snap Streak

If you and the person whom you suspect used to have regular conversations on Snapchat, you can simply go and take a look at the chat to verify. If the chat is still there, then you are not blocked.

But, if the chat has disappeared mysteriously, it is another sign that the person has blocked you. However, this could also mean that the conversation has just expired.

Another factor is the snap streaks, if you two had a snap streaking going, then you can just check it to be sure if you are blocked or not. If the streak is active, you are not blocked. But, if it is gone, then you might be.

After that, check if you are able to view their stories. If they are not visible, then this is one more sign that you are blocked.

3. Text Them on Snapchat

If you have found the conversation, try messaging them. You can send any message like a ‘Hi’ or anything else. If the message shows “Delivered” just after sending, then you are NOT blocked. However, if the message shows “Pending” status even after hours of sending it, then you might be blocked.

Sometimes the internet connection is the culprit of the pending status of Snapchat messages. Make sure your internet is working before hopping to conclusions.

4. Search them with your Friend’s Account

If you can’t find the person with your Snapchat account, ask your friend to do it. Tell him to search for the person using their full name or Snapchat username, and then share the screenshot with you.

If they are appearing in your friend’s search results, and not in yours, then it is pretty clear that they have blocked you on Snapchat. However, if they aren’t appearing even there, then they might have deleted their Snapchat account.

5. Ask them Directly

You have now collected all the signs that you are blocked by that ‘someone’ on Snapchat. If you find the decision offensive, you can just open up WhatsApp or any other messaging app and ask them why they did so. If they have blocked you, they will explain their reason to do so.

This is a straightforward way but not everyone will have the guts to do it. You can also ask this in a twisting manner. You can ask if they have disabled or deleted their Snapchat account because you can’t find them. And, analyze their answer.

Final Take

This is how you can check if someone blocked you on Snapchat. Since Snapchat will not send any notifications when someone blocks or removes you from their profile, these are the only legit things you can do to assure yourself. However, this might change soon and Snapchat may start informing you about the users who have blocked you. But, that is still far from happening.

That’s it for this post. I hope you are now sure if you are blocked or not. If someone has blocked you, it’d be better to let them stay at peace and not invade their privacy. It is their choice and right.

Leave a Comment